You know I have met people who didn’t like the idea that “our whole life is just one big test”.  It is true; that is one way to look at it.  But no matter what you do, you will be tested – even if you choose against God and want nothing to do with Him, you will still be tested, tried and life will be hard.  Consider the reward for each side.  Choose God you receive: unconditional and eternal love, a deep and lasting joy, a peace that passes understanding, patience with others and in trials, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self control.  With Satan you may get a big house, money, a nice car, and many more material and pointless things, but does he provide you with lasting fruits like the Holy Spirit?  Does Satan’s indwelling comfort, protect and guide you toward peace, joy, and eternal happiness and security?  Oh, Satan will guide you if you let him; you can count on that.  He may even lead you to some kinda fruit, but in the end those who do not choose love for Christ are choosing a firey eternity.  Additionally, how many non-believers have you know well who are perfectly happy in every way?  Do they feel contentment or a peace that passes understanding?  I would be interested to study such an idividual – one who, though guided and posessed by Satan, they feel perfect and deep contentment and peace.

I have had some tough times.  But recently I was looking back at past tough times and realized the purpose within them.  Take my car accident at 17.  Driving home from the Prom I wrecked my car and was hospitalized for a few days.  Recovery was a bit tough, but not that bad.  For years I didnt understand why it happened at all.  I LOVED that car and I was a pretty good driver, though not perfect.  Two years ago my sister, Mary, died in a car accident and it was then that I realized why I had my wreck.  Mary was the one who picked me up at the hospital.  Before then her and I werent really “friends”; we did NOT like each other and she held a deep dislike for me as her little sister.  But when she picked me up from the hospital something had changed.  I sensed a softness in her that she had never shown towards me before.  As time passed we became friends and actually had a lot of great times together.  I truly believe now if I had never had my wreck we would have never been friends.  Then when she died how would I have felt?  What deep regret I would have experienced.  Now, though, I feel peace.  I believe God led those events.

I just had a thought.  What is “peace that passes understanding”?  Until today I was sure that it meant that once I allowed myself to feel peace, I would understand.  But think about it, “a peace that passes understanding”.  To me, now that I consider it, it means that the peace is so great that you dont need understanding.  Maybe it doesnt mean that, but I have found that to be true for me.  Sometimes I have to just take a deep breath and say, “okay, God, I have NO CLUE what you are doing here in this situation but I trust you.”  I find the understanding often follows that trust.

Thank God for his guidance and grace.

Prov 16:9; 19:21; 20:24  and others…

