So since I screwed up so badly the last several days I am essentially starting over with my diet, with today being day one.  I wont even BOTHER posting about YESTERDAY! (…which would have been day Five.)  Yesterday was rough and miserable and today I feel better.

Do you know the hardest thing to deal with?  I thought I was eating pretty healthy BEFORE the meal plan.  Now I am realizing that I ate a lot of foods that were high in sugar or turned to sugar in my system.  So my body was so high on sugar that it could barely cope without it.

So now here I am at the starting point.  This diet is supposed to be easy, but there are so many little tiny things you can screw up on.  The main things I’ve had trouble with are eating the right distance apart (2:30-3 hrs) and preparing the right amount of the right foods for dinner.

“The right foods” may sound silly to some of you who eat whatever you want whenever you want but on a meal plan designed for optimal weight loss without loss of nutrition the amount of “what” you eat is very important.  Obviously certain foods like french fries, anything fried, and high carbohydrate and high sugar foods are off limits.  But I also have to weigh my meats and measure my veggies so I know that I am not over eating.  Over eating is so much easier than we realize.  We eat even one portion of food and often times it is twice as much volume as we need, and I was one of those who ate two servings of too much food.  It has paid off well and made me FAT! No, Im not 200 lbs overweight but even 20 lbs of extra fat is detrimental to your health and a strain on your body.  One person suggested going to the grocery store and picking up a 10 lb sack of potatos and carrying it around the grocery store (in your arms, not in the cart) to see how it feels to carry just 10 lbs of extra weight.  I have about 40 lbs of extra weight weighing me down and I am certain it will make a big difference in not only my looks but also an even bigger difference in how I feel.

So today I didnt taste any new products.  The only products I have yet to try are the other two oatmeal flavors.  Next month I want to buy things individual and get some of the products I dont have that I havent tasted.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Family Life:

Today was particularily trying.  Cassie tried my patience at every turn. Every single time I requested her to do something or stop doing something she disobeyed me.  She argued several times and fussed more times than I can count.  I do not know what is going on with her.  I suspect it may have much to do with the fact that Presten has been working a LOT on the weekends lately.  He is going “to work” again tomorrow morning from 9 – 12 which means the kids will only briefly get time with him in the morning and unless they skip nap they wont see him again until 3 or 4.  My kids always misbehave more when they dont get enough time with Daddy.   On several occations I have seen a correlation between lessened play time with Presten and grumpier days.  It makes sense.  He is half of the parental unit.  They need him for totally different reasons than they need me.  I cannot fulfill their needs for him, nor can I begin to try.  I am so proud of the fact that Presten is a chiropractor but I often wish that he werent.  I remember my dad coming home every night at 5:00 p.m. on the dot.  We ate dinner as a family and spent the evenings together.  As a teenager we worked outside together on our farm after dinner.  Presten doesnt get home until 6:30 or 6:45 which may not seem like a big deal but when the kids need to go to bed before 7:30 it is.  It means he cannot eat dinner with the family during the week and he only has a max of 30 minutes before the kids need to get ready for bed.  30 minutes a day just isnt enough for the kids to feel loved by him.  If I had it my way we would win the lottery (or some other such get-rich-quick thing) and we would both stay home (or at least he would work limited hours) and spend our time doing much more important things.  We would do more work with the church and volunteer work and all sorts of outtings.  We would travel and show our kids the world.  Presten desires to be home more hours of the day but he simply cannot until he is making enough money in the time he is there.

It may sound like I am just complaining.  SO many people are out of work and want a job even if they have to work 12 hours a day.  But my above remarks have been on my heart since way before this resession and a recession doesnt change the way your heart feels.  My husband is amazing.  He is my Prince Charming, the man of my dreams, the man I have prayed for since I was young.  He is everything I asked for and much more.  He is NOT perfect, but he IS perfect for me.  So why would I want to spend any time away from him that I dont have to?  We love spending time together doing pretty much anything.  We love talking with each other and cuddling to watch tv.  We enjoy working on projects together and playing games together.  He is my best friend and I love spending every moment I can with him.  I want him to be happy and I know he enjoys being a chiropractor, but he doesnt enjoy spending so much time away from his girls.

So my prayer for our family is that God will work it out to where Presten can spend more time with his girls, even if it is only 30 minutes more a day.

However, dispite all this, I am learning to be content in my current situation.  I know and believe firmly that God has a plan for my life.  I know that this moment, even its frustrations, fits into a greater plan. Certain pieces of the puzzle may seem to not fit, but they will make sense in Gods time.  (Prov. 16:9 and 19:21, among many others)  The Bible tells us over and over again that God has a plan and will for our lives and we only need to trust Him and allow ourselves to be clay in His hands to receive His perfect will.

May yours and my tomorrow be filled with abundant joy – oh and weight loss! 🙂

xox

