I only ate 863 calories today yet not once did I feel hungry or underfed.  Dinner was very satisfying.  And I was so proud of myself that I went to life group and they ate pasta dishes and lasagna (MY FAV! I love pasta!) and I ate NONE!  I sat there and ate my bar like a good girl.  Of course I was a little disgruntled, but I got over it. 🙂

So I have to tell you what I ate for dinner because it was so yummy!! There are so many restrictions of what I can have and cant, especially since I have sugar issues so I wanted to be careful.  I bought some raw chicken tenderloins at Costco (about 18 lbs) and intend to eat those all week as my “lean”.  I hope I can come up with enough ways to prepare them so I dont get bored because chicken can be pretty boring – especially since I cant find a bbq sauce I can eat.  So here’s what I did:
Green: I steamed broccoli, cauliflower and asparagus in my steamer.  As the veggies cook, they drip down juice into the steam water.  As they steamed I cooked the chicken some.

Lean: I added a bit of water to the pan (instead of oil) and somewhat boiled the chicken strips.  I added a bouillon cube for a bit of extra flavor (because chicken can be so bland). I also added a few of the asparagus ends that I would have discarded (because they were tough), for flavor.  I used 1/4 tsp mustard powder and 1/8 tsp onion powder also.  Once the veggies were finished steaming I added the leftover water (with veggie drippings) to the chicken and finished cooking the chicken.  Once it was fully cooked, I removed it from the pan, leaving the watery mixture in the pan.  I added 1 tsp of arrowroot powder to the pan and cooked it for a minute or two until it was gravy-like.  I poured it over my chicken and voila! Chicken with Gravy and veggies on the side! YUMMY!!  It tasted great!  I plan to have the same thing tomorrow.

So I had a thought.  I was contemplating the verse:
I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.
Galatians 2:20 NIV

I consider myself a Super Mom – more power charged than some other mothers – and the above verse is one of the many reasons I consider myself that.  It is not that I consider myself special of my own right.  Nor do I think that I am exclusively special and no one else can be as super as me.  I am dead to Christ and alive in Him.  I allow God to guide my life and I do my best to turn to Him on how to raise my children.  Though the Bible does say very little about child-rearing, it does say an awful lot about how to be a Christian and how to be like Christ.  So I try to take who God wants my children to be when they are adults and teach them those lessons now.  A child is never too young to learn that certain things are wrong and certain things are right.  In fact, the other day Cassie said to me, “Mommy, when I get big like a Mommy I can do whatever I want because I’m big.” to which I said, “No, Cassie. While you are able to do whatever you want you still need to make wise choices to please God and to live a good life.” then I went on to explain how I could make some poor choices but look at the consequence.  I made it all easy for a 4 yr old to understand, of course.  While she may not fully understand everything I say, she gets the point of it enough for now.

I view child-rearing kind of like building a brick wall.  You cannot build a brick wall by dumping concrete on a pile of bricks.  You have to carefully dig out the foundation and make it flat.  Then you begin to lay the bricks one at a time, carefully smoothing out thin layers of concrete between the bricks so they will stick.  The bricks are the life-lessons and Biblical lessons that my children need to understand.  God and the Bible are the concrete and I am merely the simple brick-layer who is doing what I’m told.  No I have no clue what I am doing but I do know how to lay bricks and smear concrete.  So I lay down lessons for my children and smear Bible verses – sticking them where I can in context – and pray that God leads me to make them who He wants them to be.

So am I more Super than you?  Well that depends… does the Holy Spirit dwell within you?  Do you allow Him to guide your life?  Do you prayerfully go about parenting?  If yes and you are doing your best than I would say you’re on the right track.

I don’t want to sound self-righteous.  I dont think I am better than anyone.  I believe God is perfect and His work in my life impacts my children and by His leading I am the perfect parent for my children – not a perfect parent, mind you, just perfect for my kids. 

I am doing my best and letting God figure out the rest. Are you?

xox

