So that burst of energy I was hoping for finally came!!  I spent most of the day cleaning while my kids played near by.  I deep-cleaned their bedroom, cleaned my kitchen, cleaned the living room and almost finished all the laundry.  Its amazing how much laundry piles up when you don’t do it for a week.

Today for the first time in longer than I would like to admit I enjoyed being a stay at home mom.  Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy the idea of it all the time.  But imagine being me with no energy, constant grumpiness and tense nerves, and feeling half asleep all the time.  Would you enjoy staying home with two kids who have 10x the energy of you and feeling like ripping out your hair because your nerves are shot?  Me neither.  But today this wasn’t the case.  I felt calm, at ease, energetic and more than ready and willing to face my day and clean, clean, clean.  I love to clean.  I love to organize.  And I love my kids, no matter how bad I feel.  But today I enjoyed my kids.  Not only did I clean but we played and danced and we they didn’t watch one single movie until just before bed. We got a new DVD from Netflix and so we sat down and watched “Minnesota Cuke and the Search for Samson’s Hairbrush!” and they ate popcorn while I munched Nacho Cheese puffs (from Medifast, of course). Dear, God, make this a normal day for me from now on.

I sure hope this is the beginning of a very nice life full of energy, wellness and sanity.  The only thing is tonight my chest feels tight and I am having asthmatic symptoms.  My nose is stuff, too, and the combo makes me think I’m just reacting to the dust I stirred up cleaning today.  I was trilled to get so much done and enjoy the day with my kids!  Thank you so much, God.

This diet isn’t perfect, just as no diet is, but I do believe it is the best I have heard of or read about.  I started this diet so addicted to sugar that I literally could not go more than a few hours without having sugar.  My list of negative symptoms included everything from frequent headaches, to grumpiness and constant exhaustion with insomnia to boot!  The list was incredibly long and it seemed there was no way I would ever feel good again!  I tried so many things, and several diets.  I considered myself a somewhat healthy eater and tried my best to be my best but that’s the thing about health – you can push through feeling bad but you cant snap your fingers and feel better or get better.  This diet is hard work.  Its so hard to make myself NOT eat the chocolate chips in my cupboard or the (air pop) popcorn I pop for my kiddos occasionally.  But I FORCE myself to behave because of my greater goal.  With this diet – and most other meal changes – you cannot just do it sometimes.  You have to commit to it and stick with it completely, never straying from the plan to “cheat” or take a “vacation” from the plan.  You have to do it all the time or not at all or you will not receive the results and certainly not as fast and therefore you will get bogged down and depressed and probably quit.  So I am committed, despite the call of sugar from my cupboard and my kiddos begging for me to bake cookies like I used to.  I am committed because I love them, I love me and I love my life and want to enjoy it not survive it.  Are you enjoying your life?

xox

